stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

Archive for September 16th, 2002

re-gutted

leave a comment »

My notebook came back from the repair shop today with a new hard drive and system board. I didn’t think the drive needed replacing, but they said it was noisy, and this one is indeed quieter. The system board replacement took care of the USB problems as far as I could tell from a short test with a borrowed USB mouse. I’m reinstalling Windows XP Professional properly now and will run more tests with the game pad too, which means Microsoft Flight Simulator 2002. If it works out I can start thinking about USB Audio devices.

Written by brian t

September 16, 2002 at 4:51 pm

Posted in technology, windows

minority opinion

leave a comment »

A quiet weekend, though I did go out to see Minority Report last night. Pretty amazing stuff, really surprising for Spielberg. As I said before, it’s not the first time he’s reacted to his own “cute” films by digging in deeper and getting nasty – that was a factor in both Poltergeist and Schindler’s List. It did have a bit of a happy ending, but so did the original cinema version of Blade Runner, the other benchmark adaptation of a Philip K Dick story. (Total Recall is great, but a major departure from the original story.) I wouldn’t be too surprised to see a Director’s Cut in a few years, with a bleaker ending.

Written by brian t

September 16, 2002 at 9:48 am

Posted in movies

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.