stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

interlockings

leave a comment »

Off to the pub next for a semi-obligatory drink – we have two fairly senior people leaving, both to go back home to Denmark, to work for the same company. Coincidence? Or something more sinister?I’m not really an exciting person, but some people think I’m interesting to be around, since I’m interested in many things, knowledgeable about a few, and can (hopefully) make a start on getting a handle on them. I’m also known as a cynical git who acts like he’s seen it all. Well, I haven’t seen it all, but I have seen a lot, between South Africa, the UK, and now Ireland.

Where I work, a few (dull) people think I’m like Anne of Green Gables, the fictional character who took delight in most things, seeing connections and possibilities all around her. In a similar way, the Web and its “hypertext” structure are tailor-made for our type, since it can also open up new and unexpected vistas after each click. I don’t know if I’m a ‘Net junkie, since I manage just fine (I think) when away from a computer, but that would explain a few things.

This self-explanatory spiel is an excuse to include an appropriate quote: from a new movie review by Roger Ebert, whom I sometimes find myself agreeing with. The film is 13 Conversations About The Same Thing, and it’s all about happiness, and how rudely it can be interrupted, assuming we can find it at all. Ebert notes the film’s effect on him, and how it relates to an injury he suffered recently (a fall). He ends the review like this:

And yet, even so, there is a way to find happiness. That is to be curious about all of the interlocking events that add up to our lives. To notice connections. To be amused or perhaps frightened by the ways things work out. If the universe is indifferent, what a consolation that we are not.

Written by brian t

June 14, 2002 at 5:03 pm

Posted in philosophy

Leave a Reply

