stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

moving again

leave a comment »

What was I writing on Sunday about staying in this place for the next few months? Well, it looks as if my landlord’s planning permission is not going to go through, and so he’s once again looking at making money from this place as it is. I’ve been given the choice of

  1. finding two more people to come and live here, and taking charge of the place, or
  2. moving out.

Not a difficult choice, since this place is hardly worth fighting for. I expect to move out at the end of the month, and have started putting feelers out at work.

Playing around with my ThinkPad today, I discovered a Linux utility called “tmpwatch”, which purports to clean up unnecessary temporary files. Well, it certainly cleaned up the system all right. After it was finished, I couldn’t even run a ‘ls’ command to see what was left, since the ‘ls’ binary was ‘tmpwatch’d along with everything except the kernel (I think). Oh well, I’d been looking for an excuse to low-level format the sucker for some time. Windows 98SE2 is going back on for the moment. I think I have a copy of 98lite somewhere too.

On second thoughts, let me see how far I can go on DOS 6.22 and Windows for Workgroups 3.11. A little nostalgia for the old folks, and very quick boot times for me. I’m dating myself here, aren’t I? Might as well, it’s not as if anyone else will…

Written by brian t

October 2, 2002 at 9:15 pm

Leave a Reply

