stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

bilocational man

leave a comment »

I spent Saturday and Sunday evenings painting my new bedroom, in pure white as it turned out. I thought about doing something fancier, as I said, such as white with a hint of green, but it’s probably better to use posters etc. for effect. Tomorrow I’ll be signing a lease and cleaning up, then start moving stuff in on Tuesday.

When I move the TV and VCR, I’ll be able to set the timer and record everything I want to see for the rest of the week on one tape, which explains why I’m getting back in to books again. Current TV favourites include Becker, Will And Grace, and Boston Public. The latter “jumped the shark” some time ago, but between the over-stressed teachers, crazy students, and the kid who may or may not have chopped his mother’s hand off, you have to wonder what the hell will happen next. It’s almost the alter ego to Ally McBeal, another show by the same producers that I never got in to. (The first complete episode I saw was the very last one ever made.)

Trying to get back from my new place to my old place on Sundays is a nightmare. There is a bus service, but on Sundays they only run one bus every two hours. At least it ran to the printed schedule. And Dublin is supposed to be a modern city?

Just watched the film Bicentennial Man, which I’ve never seen before. It received some bad reviews, and I suppose it’s not the most challenging possible choice of material for Robin Williams. I’m familiar with the original Isaac Asimov story, and it’s clear to see where the story was spiced up to take advantage of Williams’ comic talents. (Is farting a sign that you’re becoming human?) In the parts where it mattered, though, I thought he was suitably restrained and faithful to the story, which is enough. In the end, the only truly schmaltzy aspect is the unnecessary Celine Dion ballad over the closing titles.

I’ve wondered, over the years, about film or television adaptations of great science fiction stories, and Bicentennial Man was one of them. Asimov’s Foundation books might make a TV series, since there’s far too much going on there to fit in even a trilogy of films. I’ve also imagined a series based on individual SF stories by great authors. My favourite SF short story, Death and the Senator by Arthur C Clarke, would be a good opener.

Written by brian t

November 3, 2002 at 11:03 pm

Posted in movies, television

Leave a Reply

