stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

bowling for kuwait

leave a comment »

Had a fun night out last night – bowling with our company’s Sports & Social Club. Because I’m a member, I’m paying a little every month, and have now got quite a bit of it back. For a nominal fee, the bowling was covered, then we hit the pub for free food and drinks afterwards. Plus, my team won the team prize, so I have some gift vouchers to spend today. This despite my game fading towards the end, when the ball got really heavy, and changing it wouldn’t have helped (in my experience).

I haven’t commented much on the War in Iraq, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been paying attention, it’s more that I can’t find much to say on the topic that needs to be said here. I have the luxury of keeping quiet, compared to some journalists who are obliged to find something fresh to say on a regular basis. Some of the results, to be frank, have been little more than hot air. The events on the ground on Baghdad caught the “501st Chairborne Division” totally by surprise. At the moment, looting is widespread, in the absence of the former regime’s police force.

The American “interim government” isn’t quite in control yet in Baghdad, and basics such as food, water and power are in short supply. Many Iraqis have got the idea that they need some law and order, and are demonstrating to that effect, and that should make the new government’s job easier. To cut a long story short, the Allies are still dealing with a military situation, and the civil issues don’t yet take priority.

We have Sky News at home, though I have hardly watched it at all; it can get a bit “tabloid” for my tastes. I have it on now, and their journalists are reporting from Kuwait – they don’t actually have anyone in Iraq, they’re relying on the Allied briefings and rumour. One journo has just come out with the following line, which had me choking on my coffee: “the law of the jungle rules on the streets of Baghdad.” (Think about it.) I prefer Euronews, which is more sober, and can’t take sides in any major way, since it serves all European countries, supportive of the war or not. This means they generally confine themselves to facts; but I also appreciate one of their innovations: the “No Comment” segments, which let sound and video speak for themselves with no embellishment except for the location and the date on screen.

Written by brian t

April 12, 2003 at 10:41 am

Leave a Reply

