stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

walk till you balk

leave a comment »

Not much happened over the weekend, though on Sunday I undertook the kind of walk I should do more often. If you know how you’re getting home, that means you can walk until you drop, or at least get bored. I ended up at the end of Dun Loaghaire’s South Pier, about six miles down the road, and did most of the way back, barring a short segment by DART train. The sun was out at least half the time, so I was complemented on my “nice colour” by a lady friend today.

The b3ta bodges I’ve been doing have sprouted a major sub-category of their own, which I call the planemashes, and these are now on a web page of their own, The latest, #8 from last Sunday, was something of a solution in search of a problem, and the results may be slightly offensive to the humour-impaired. Not that that’s ever stopped me before.

I don’t really want to say more about the crash self-training I’m undertaking on our NAS product family, except to say: setting up and using a system of this type is like being on a package holiday where your schedule is laid out in advance, and any deviation means the bus can leave without you. Great for amateurs, but, to stretch the analogy a bit, my colleagues and I are already well capable of taking care of ourselves in the computing world.

We can lasso a passing metaphorical mustang and ride it off into the sunset if we have to, yet here we are taking the bus. It will still get us there, but it takes longer and the only fresh scenery you see is when the bus goes off the road, and you’re staggering through a forest going “where the hell are we?” This is why I may be heading to Scotland (not London, as was I previously told), to a bus that’s gone off the road because the driver crazily thought it had four-wheel drive. We need to tow the bus back on to the road, feed the driver some Valium, and send him off on the straight and narrow again.

Why? Because customers have asked for this “simple” system, and the customer is always right, even when they’re wrong. Isn’t it funny how, in my years of using my employer’s products before I joined the company, I never found myself having to call in for support, or expected to be spoon-fed in this fashion? To put it another way: having a fixed route from A to B can work fine, until the road is blocked. That’s when we find out who will cut across country, and who will just sit in the traffic jam.

Written by brian t

June 10, 2003 at 5:37 pm

Leave a Reply

