stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

longdays

leave a comment »

The days are getting longer. I don’t just mean the daylight – we have the Summer Solstice on Sunday, I believe – but my working days are too long too. Another major case is following close on the heels of the last one – which isn’t actually over yet, since more testing needs to be done, but it’s looking a lot better. I’ve given them a lot to think about, and they haven’t bothered me for the last two days.

The other case is looking equally stupid, of course. When I was asked for my opinion earlier today, by someone in the same company, the response that came back was something like “I’m wary of accepting your advice”. OK, be wary – that’s understandable – but don’t expect me to give you guarantees.

In this new case, the problem lies somewhere between the servers and the storage, which are linked together by hardware from four different manufacturers – a combination I have no first-hand experience with, and have a snowball’s chance in hell of replicating here.

They’re looking for complications where there aren’t any. I like complications – they can make life interesting – but this is business, not life, and business complications are an expense both we and the customer could happily do without. Keep It Simple, Stupid.

Written by brian t

June 20, 2003 at 6:51 pm

Posted in work

Leave a Reply

