stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

synth delay

leave a comment »

I may have forgotten to mention, in all the dashing around last week, that my trip to Germany is off: we have new travel restrictions in place for cost reasons, and this trip hardly qualified as essential. Besides, my involvement with Vmware seems to be declining, because of the renewed Storage focus in our department. We knew this was coming, but it’s been arriving in fits and starts, then with a bang, as I found out last week.

I’ll spend the first week of my holiday just pottering around at home, recharging my batteries and catching up on the film backlog that’s built up. Not only do I have several DVDs that I have bought in the last six months and never watched, such as The Big Sleep, I have films such as Cookie’s Fortune and Citizen Kane that I recorded from TV and have put aside for months.

It looks as if I won’t be getting the K5000S synthesizer until I arrive in Scotland in the second week of July. The COD delivery is turning out to be problematic, and I’ve discovered it will be possible to meet up with the seller in Stirling the day before I head up to the Highlands. If I buy it – highly likely, as long as it’s in working order – I’ll take it with me, even if I don’t get a chance to play with it much. It’s quite heavy (15kg), but not too much for my baggage allowance when I return, and I’ll save on carriage costs.

It’s now the height of Summer Time, and it’s not getting dark before 11PM. This is playing havoc with sleep patterns, and I’ve been awake until well after 1AM every night since last week. This happens whether or not I got up for work at 4AM (last Wednesday) or 7AM, or could lie in till 10AM at the weekend. As a result I’m slightly zonked out as I write this, despite stealing an extra half-hour this morning and being a little late for work.

My job does not require clockwatching, but that’s a disadvantage in some ways: I’m not penalized if I arrive late, but neither am I rewarded if I need to stay late, which is far more common. I was working late last night, but that’s not going to happen tonight. No way.

Written by brian t

June 24, 2003 at 1:53 pm

Posted in music, travel, work

Leave a Reply

