stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

offsourcing

leave a comment »

You campaign with poetry, but govern with prose.
The West Wing

I thought I might be overdosing on it, but a new episode is on now, and this one is impressive as ever. It’s also highly relevant to me and my job, since it includes controversy surrounding the outsourcing of 17,000 IT jobs to India and how it breaks election campaign promises.

I’m not allowed to discuss quite how relevant, though my own job is not at risk. Yet. It ties into a wider issue that was predicted long before it actually happened: the way people can no longer expect a job for life, but will need to totally change careers several times. It’s ironic, in a personal way, to note how my current job is the most stable one I’ve ever had, but I had more real responsibility almost fifteen years ago. Back then people could have died if I made a serious mistake; the consequences are generally less serious now, though there are exceptions such as hospitals and stock exchanges to worry about.

I’ve been aware of this for years and expected to be laid off by now: a large redundancy payment would come in very handy, actually. My employer seems to be taking the attitude that I should be happy to be keeping my job in the face of all the changes that surround me, and they don’t have to do any more; but I’m not happy, I do expect more, and there are other things I could be doing. The only restrictions are financial – as always – but I’m in better shape there than I’ve ever been, and have the feeling I could take more risks, throw a few things at the wall and see what sticks. We’ll see.

Written by brian t

May 20, 2004 at 10:31 pm

Posted in work

Leave a Reply

