stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

straight eyes

leave a comment »

The Queer Eye for the Straight Guy phenomenon has finally landed in the UK, and I get Channel 4, so I’m watching the first taped episode now. The “Fab 5” are hilarious, with all kinds of faggy banter, but are also surprisingly full of practical advice usable by straight guys, as the title implies. I’m growing my hair at the moment, with a view to hitting the barber before my Dubai trip, but this show has got me wondering about visiting the local salon for a jou-jou do… nah. It’s not just about the look either, the “victim” in this makeover is an aspiring artist who gets a gallery wall, help with the opening party, and tips on how to work the room.

Putting a bunch of contrasting gay guys together was a great idea, I think, with their contrasting styles and complimentary skills. It makes them more real and less threatening, showing there’s more to them than their gayness. That’s the way I see it, anyway: one reason why gay guys bother straight guys is the public narcissism, the focus on the superficial things – clothes, body – to the apparent exclusion of more substantial concerns. But a straight guy can use a little of that, especially these days, when having hair on your back means pillory as an unevolved caveman. (I think my ancestors had more important things to worry about, like staying warm through the last Ice Age.)

Written by brian t

June 20, 2004 at 12:20 pm

Posted in culture, fashion, life

Leave a Reply

