stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

first do no harm

leave a comment »

My trip to Dubai is one week away, and I’m still looking forward to it: but the situation has become a little more complicated for my friends. I won’t go in to details here: I will just say that it’s the kind of thing that, historically, has been interpreted in different ways by different cultures, and has brought out the best and the worst in people, sometimes both at the same time. Yet, I think it is genuinely crucial that all involved put their best face forward and approach this with a positive attitude. I will certainly do my best when I get there.

On the one hand, I wish I could see my friends even sooner than next week; but on the other hand, I had to consider the possibility that it would be better for them if I didn’t go, on the “first do no harm” principle. On balance, though, I hope “being there” will be a good thing to do, and I think I can do more good than harm, and so the trip is still on unless I hear otherwise.

Sometimes the nicest thing you can do for someone is to let them do something for you.
– John Steinbeck

Written by brian t

July 21, 2004 at 11:28 am

Posted in life

Leave a Reply

