stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

post age

leave a comment »

I couldn’t count how many times I’ve come back from work, angry at other peoples’ screwups, needing to explain to myself and anyone else who will listen just why I’m so angry and upset. I understand, and so it was my pleasure to help out one of the folks I share a house with, just by being there and listening. It was the kind of preventable snafu that sounds all-too-familiar to me, an example of why I’m considering a move into Management: the realization that I really could do better, despite my lack of formal management training.

On a related topic: last weekend I read Terry Pratchett’s latest book, Going Postal. It concerns a thief and con-man who is appointed to the position of Postmaster General of Ankh-Morpork by a scheming Patrician. He’s only the fifth Postmaster General to hold the post in as many weeks, the previous incumbents suffering mysterious demises. The new PG, who goes by the unfortunate name of Moist von Lipwig, takes over as manager of the Ankh-Morpork Central Post Office and its motley crew, watched over by his Golem parole officer, whose motto is “You Can’t Run And You Can’t Hide”.

Much of the story is allegorical and loosely related to real-world events, mostly questions of corporate scandals and privatization in the UK. I didn’t find it quite as absorbing and resonant as Night Watch, which I read last year, but still excellent overall. One to read again, for sure.

Written by brian t

October 6, 2004 at 10:26 pm

Posted in books, work

Leave a Reply

