stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

handover

leave a comment »

I’m still at work for a slightly odd reason I won’t go into much further, but it involves The Hitch-Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. No, really. I have the opportunity of listening to the whole radio series again, so I’m arranging that this evening.

The apartment move is complete, and we handed the keys over last night. Tuesday was a cleanup evening, and Monday was my Japanese class, which was actually shorter than usual, because one of the guys will miss the last three classes, the class won’t see him until next year. Our teacher is expecting a kid in about six weeks, though that didn’t stop her from taking a pint of Smithwicks – wonder what the baby made of that? (Gurgle.) I have to do a major revision of the course this weekend, I missed a lesson last week and the latest grammar points have not begun to settle in yet.

On top of all that, I’m expected to document my achievements for the last year at work: cases I’ve managed successfully, courses I’ve given, etcetera, for the annual “focal point review”. It used to be bi-annual, before the takeover, now we all have twice as much to do and remember each time. My achievements this year have been unremarkable, more about getting the job done without fuss. If that’s not good enough for Management, it’s their loss, I’m past caring what they think, in general.

Written by brian t

November 11, 2004 at 8:16 pm

Posted in japan, life, work

Leave a Reply

