stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

anti-corporate

leave a comment »

The holiday is over, and it’s back to work tomorrow morning. After a trip to Dublin centre, for shoes, MIDI cables, pork pies and houmous, I have to conclude that Christmas is over too, at least for me. Now I just find the whole thing sad, over-commercialized, totally phoney, and it’s not even December yet. For the rest of the year, it’s almost nothing but work, most of it in a low-staff situation, firstly with other people on training, then the holiday season, when I have exactly one day off. Last year, well, I needed to take a break by early February, that’s how mad it was, and I won’t get to do much else over the season.

I won’t be going to the corporate party this year, since it looks to be identical to last year’s. No thanks, Before I left for my break I floated the idea of an “anti-corporate” party with everything that the corporate party won’t have, starting with a civilized atmosphere and good food. I wonder if anyone else ran with the idea, or will it be all up to me to arrange? I can do that, but I expect some committment from the others to the principle of having a good time. If someone says they’ll show up, and doesn’t, that’s a slap in the face that I won’t be keeping to myself. G’Night.

Written by brian t

November 30, 2004 at 11:00 pm

Posted in life

Leave a Reply

