stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

telephone tag

leave a comment »

What is it about me and telephones?

I will never be happy with the idea of being contactable by anyone at any time. My flatmate just had a land line installed in our apartment, because of her job, and her employer is paying for it… but it may ring in the middle of the night, and it’ll wake me up before it wakes her – I’m closer.

It rang for the first time yesterday, while my flatmate was out, and it was her mother with a message for me to pass on: her grandmother had just died. Hardly an auspicious start.

Today I’m trying another blogging system, Pivot. It looks really good so far, and has a major advantage over GreyMatter from my point of view: it uses PHP only, no server-side Perl scripts, and no databases. It means I can keep the site reliable and portable, and stick to my preferred working methods – an offline master copy that gets uploaded every so often. I can even test it at home, which I can not do with GreyMatter, which configures the server in a particular way. I’ll see how it goes, but I like it so far.

Written by brian t

January 30, 2005 at 7:20 pm

Posted in life

Leave a Reply

