stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

talk talk

leave a comment »

I thought I should just do the whole SQL update thing in one lump, not by record and it appears to have worked, but it’s not something I will try too often, because it wipes any data that changed since the backup was taken – comments, etc. I only did it this time because I made several offline fixes to blog entries in the database, spelling & grammar etc., too many to repeat online. Other changes I plan will be to styles and templates, and those are flat files I can simply back up and upload without changing the content. The important thing is to have the mechanism, and an accurate offline copy of the site that I can tweak.

Last night I tried to “clear” an old videotape with a couple of movies I recorded to watch later. First up: The Outlaw, directed by Howard Hawks and produced by Howard Hughes, from 1943. A largely forgettable cowboy tale, of how Billy The Kid (Jack Buetel) walks in to the wrong town, offends Sherrif Pat Garrett (Thomas Mitchell), a former outlaw himself, but is defended by Doc Holliday (Walter Huston) for no apparent reason. After tensions escalate, Billy is shot, but Holliday carries him to the home of his mistress, who nurses him back to health and starts an affair with him – despite the fact that he killed her brother, and she was Holliday’s mistress.

This mistress is largely responsible for the film’s notable status today: Rio, played by Jane Russell, displays a monumental cleavage, allegedly with the assistance of specialized hardware designed by Hughes. It had the censors in a tizzy, and didn’t see the screen until 3 years later, in a cut version. Apart from Russell’s assets, however, the film is tame, and I didn’t finish it, because I had a hopefully better one on the same tape.

The Conversation (1974) was Francis Ford Coppola’s “pet project”, the one insisted on making before he would agree to The Godfather Part II. It was getting late, and I thought I might drop off to sleep, but no chance of that; it’s a psychological drama of the first order. Looking for reviews afterwards, I found Leonard Maltin calling it “one of the greatest films of the 70’s”, and the link above is to Roger Ebert’s second review of it, this time for his Great Movies list. Me, I’ve long been an admirer of Gene Hackman’s acting, and this film might just be his finest hour.

Written by brian t

April 20, 2005 at 9:00 am

Posted in movies, sitenews

Leave a Reply

