stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

theme scheme

leave a comment »

Expect the look of this page to vary a bit in the next few weeks. I’ve finally gathered up the willpower to strip this site’s WordPress theme down to its very basics, with the aim of rebuilding it in my own way.

To start with, I’ve re-engineered the main page template to look similar to the old one, but without the “absolute div” positioning of the sidebar that had me worried about compatibility with older or limited browsers; it’s a recent development of style sheet support that I’m not terribly keen on.

To get the similar look, however, I’ve had to use an older method that I don’t like, either: the use of Tables for page layout. It also has problems with older browsers, though careful use can reduce the impact of this. Switching themes is easy, so I can return to the previous theme if I feel like it.

In the long term, I think I’ll have to find a better way, but I can take as long as I like. What I will definitely avoid, however, is any kind of “Web 2.0” bull, especially the kind that relies on client-side scripting to work. There are JavaScript components on my site, such as the Flickr Zeitgeist pictures, but they’re optional. It’s going to take a lot of research, I think.

Written by brian t

February 16, 2006 at 12:22 am

Leave a Reply

