stereoroid.com

music, opinion and technology

needs must, and all that

leave a comment »

Sometimes, or so it seems to me, I can be a bit slow on the uptake. I blame my job: troubleshooting computers and storage systems is a job for a literal-minded pedant, whose day can revolve around the tiniest of details that make or break a customer’s installation. The procedures for doing things tend to be linear, with individual steps that you must complete successfully before moving on to the next one. I don’t like what this job has done to me, to be blunt, and while some of my bloody-mindedness may be MS-related, I think I have a need for some mental liberation.

A domestic vignette should give you some idea of the current state of affairs. At work, this afternoon, while in the middle of something else, I hit on a solution to a nagging domestic problem; the lack of a desk. I don’t want to buy one, because I may have to move some day, and every item I have is an item that needs moving. There’s also the problem of quality; the cheapest desks are tiny and not very well-built, so I would need to spend more than I want to, just to be happy with my purchase.

Here at home I have four plastic crates, filled with various bits and pieces, cables, books and CDs. I’ve tried laying my dart board cabinet over the top and using that, but it’s too narrow, and has a knee-skewering screw sticking out its back. (The dart board is just one of the odd items I’ve had handed-down from the various housemates I’ve had here in Dublin, but it’ll be staying behind when I eventually leave this place.)

I needed a long and narrow board to lay on top of the crates; could I buy one, or find one in someone’s shed? The answer was simpler: ten minutes with a screwdriver, this evening, and I had one of my bedroom closet doors off, and over the crates. The noisy desktop PC is to one side, but my 5-year-old Compaq laptop (running Ubuntu Linux) is fine for writing work. As for ergonomics: my “director’s chair” is almost the right height, and I have the old & heavy keyboard out, which suits my heavy typing. A wrist rest, maybe a cushion on the chair, and many words will be written here.

Just as long as I don’t need to get anything out any of the crates, that is… 🙄

Written by brian t

June 26, 2007 at 11:37 pm

Posted in life

Leave a Reply

